Griner Award - for Business Members

The Griner Award recognizes the significant contributions that business members make to CSAE and the association management profession. These contributions reflect the enhancement of association management and/or CSAE’s profile and organizational effectiveness. (Award named in honour of the late John Griner, CAE).


  • CSAE member for at least five years
  • Significant support of CSAE programs demonstrating a level of commitment that transcends normal business considerations over this time
  • Organization contribution: application of innovative solutions to support association management, participation within CSAE events and support of the association industry
  • Self-nominations are permitted


The nominee may be an individual and/or an organization who through their actions over an extended period of time have contributed in a manner beyond the expectations of daily business. The nominee is an accomplished leader and is committed to leadership excellence in association management.

Submission Requirements

  • Nominee information
  • Nominee’s Record of Achievements
  • Current résumé for nominee
  • Three letters of Support/Testimonials - one of which must be from a current CSAE member (this includes the nominator’s letter)
  • Narrative (250-500 words) explaining why the nominee is deserving of this Award

Download the 2017 Griner Award Application Form. The deadline for submissions is July 14th, 2017 at 5PM (EDT). All documents must be emailed in PDF format along with the completed application form to

Past Recipients

2014 – Hester Whatman
2012 – Robert Thompson, MediaEdge Publishing Inc.
2011 – Norman Jessop, Centre des congrès de Québec
2010 – Huw Williams, Impact Public Affairs
2009 – Theresa Beenken, National Speakers Bureau
2006 - William Pashby, Borden Ladner Gervais LLP
2004 – Pierre Normandin, Gatineau Outaouais Tourism Hotels
2001 – Andrew Stamper, Conventional Solutions
2000 – Ralph Strachan, Stronco Group of Companies

1999 – Yvan Jérome, caé
1998 – Sal Farrauto, HECFI
1997 – Jacques Drury, Canadian Airline International
1996 – John Meissner, Canadian Pacific Hotels
1995 – ITT Sheraton Canada
1994 – Delta Hotels & Resorts
1993 – Maurice Bleau, ITT Sheraton Canada
1992 – Martin J. Copeland, Audio Archives International, Inc.
1991 – Reginald Watts, Stratquest Group Ltd.
1990 – Réjean (Ray) Proulx, Air Canada & April Taylor, Taylor & Associates
1989 – W.F. Morneau, W.F. Morneau & Associates
1988 – Westin Hotels & Resorts
1986 – Hilton International

About CSAE