Donna Mary Shaw Award - for Executive and Business Members

This Award is named in honour of the late Donna Mary Shaw, a well-respected CSAE colleague dedicated to advancing association management and the mentoring of youth. Initiated by her many friends and colleagues as an endowment fund through CSAE’s Foundation in 1996, the Society now confers this Award on behalf of the Foundation.

The Donna Mary Shaw Award assists young professionals wishing to pursue careers in the not-for-profit sector. Up to six individuals may win in any given year: one each from British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan/Manitoba, Ontario, Québec and Atlantic Canada. Recipients receive two prizes from a selection of CSAE products or services and also benefit from a mentoring commitment from their nominating employer.

Award recipients are provided resources, education and counseling opportunities designed to encourage their continued career within the sector and their aspirations to advance within their own or other not-for-profit organizations.

Each recipient may select two prizes from the following:

Prizes can be claimed up to 12 months following receipt of the award.


  • Active CSAE Executive and Business members may nominate a promising employee(s) from within their organization
  • The CSAE member who nominates the selected individual(s) must maintain his or her CSAE membership during the year the employee receives his or her prizes
  • Eligibility

  • Nominated individuals must have been employed in a full-time capacity for a minimum of one year within the organization
  • Award recipients must maintain their employment status in the year following their award in order to claim their prizes
  • Download the Donna Mary Shaw Award Application form. The deadline for submissions is July 14th, 2017 at 5PM (EDT). All documents must be emailed in PDF format along with the completed application form to

    Past Recipients

    2016 – Courtney Thack, Julia Cheheiber
    2014 – Maddy Marchildon, Natalie Wallace
    2013 – Jessica Bedford
    2012 – Nicole Maurice, Maria Galati
    2011 – Cayla Ireland
    2010 – Kenny Chan
    2009 – Silvia Eliçagaray, Sarah Vaughan, Karin Hedetniemi, Paul Jones Mubunga
    2008 – Jasmin Lidington
    2007 – Christiane Dowsing
    2005 – Kelly Allbright, Sheila Lennon
    2004 – Sandy Leske, Hélène Samson
    2003 – Jeffrey Hanlan; Dawn Kelly; Carol S. Law; Wendy Skinner

    About CSAE